Hah, hah, hah, hah, stayling alive, staying alive

On the morning of the drawn match against Cork, I surfaced to find myself with double vision. After staggering around Dublin like a drunken sailor and watching the match with one eye closed (not such a bad state of affairs, the sensory deprivaton reduced the trauma), I returned to Waterford and attended Specsavers in City Square on the Monday. They sent me straight to Ardkeen where I got progressively weaker over a number of days and was diagnosed with Guillain-Barré Syndrome.

Hear Dan Roar!, August 2007

Glad to report that I’m making a decent recovery, as you can see from the photo taken moments after the win over Cork, accompanied by the christened-earlier-in-the-day (honestly!) Dan the Déise Cub. I should note that I received first-class care out in Ardkeen (after all these years, I still find it hard to see it as Waterford Regional Hospital), the only setback being when I refused to lie still during the match, leading tio blinding headaches. Totally worth it.

I’m still at the time of writing unsteadier than a new born foal. It took me a whole day of to-ing and fro-ing between the PC and the bed to write the report for the drawn game. Suffice to say, I wasn’t at the replay, I won’t be at the Limerick match today and . . . any subsequent events that might take place this year. My season following Waterford in the flesh is over, so I’m not bothering with match reports that are only a rehash of what we can all see on telly.

But I am alive and recovering, and as the Déise boys continue winning, that’s the main thing. By which I mean me recovering is the main thing, of course. Of course . . .

2 thoughts on “Hah, hah, hah, hah, stayling alive, staying alive

Comments are closed.