Back-to-back Munster titles

Has it ever happened before that a Waterford team has retained a Munster title? It’s happened now, with De La Salle retaining the Harty Cup, beating Thurles CBS in the final by 1-11 to 0-7. WIT winning the Fitzgibbon Cup is nice, but that’s not really a ‘Waterford’ team. No doubt there a few North Waterfordians (aka South Kilkenny) in the De La Salle team, but it’ll mostly be Waterford players on the team. When you factor in the Tony Forristal success last year, it doesn’t seem unreasonable (if perhaps overly optimistic) to speculate that we are seeing a generation who picked up their hurleys when we hit the big time in 1998 coming of age.