The enemy of my enemy is my friend

With my (ahem) responsibilities with Tramore Hinterland proving to be a distraction in recent months, the Championship has sprung up on me and I didn’t get around to doing a prediction of how the Munster championship would pan out like I’ve done in recent years. I’ve had a decent hit rate when doing this, getting it hopelessly wrong in 2008 and but completely right in 20092010 (even going for Cork to beat Tipperary which no-one else was brave enough to do), and 2011. Probably worth a few quid if I were the gambling type, but seeing as I’m not imagomoney will have to do.

Midway through the second half of today’s match between Limerick and Tipperary, I was given to reflect on why it is I don’t gamble. Predicting the mercurial Rebels to beat Tipp is one thing. You’d want to be off your trolley to do the same for Limerick. Yet they had Tipperary on the ropes, seven points down and limiting Tipp to two points in the second half. A result like this was proof of the adage of  how you never see a bookie on a bicycle.

In the end Tipperary reeled Limerick back in, and another thought replaced all of the above – how guilty and confused I was by my desire for Tipperary to win. I make no apologies for wanting what is good for Waterford, and the thought of a resurgent Limerick coming up on the inside rail would make you ill. Better that Limerick be kept down and Tipperary stay on top than risk having a free-for-all which might see Waterford slide to the bottom of the pile.

And you know what? That’s just wrong. It should be Kilkenny, Cork and Tipperary versus The Rest. If a supporter of Limerick were to adopt such a nihilistic attitude towards Waterford I’d be raging. So from now on, I’m going to banish such silly thoughts and focus my energies (for what they are worth) on rooting for the minnow. Pity it will be next year before I get a chance.

